Our Advisory Group

Our Advisory Group comprises member organisations from all states and territories, including peak bodies, in the area of preventing and responding to violence against women. AWAVA’s Advisory Group informs AWAVA’s priorities and work plan, and amplifies the voices of the women and networks that members represent, with particular emphasis on marginalised and under-represented groups of women. The Advisory Group is intended to fairly represent the different sub-sectors within the violence against women sector. Our current members are:


Organisation Advisory Group member
Women’s Services Network


Julie Oberin
Proxy: Margaret Augerinos
Association of Women Educators AWE Jude Walker
Proxy: Alota Lima
National Association of Services Against Sexual Violence NASASV Karen Willis
Proxy: TBC
Ruby Gaea NT   Samantha Chung
Proxy: TBC
Australasian Council of Women and Policing ACWAP Maha Sukkar
Proxy: Gerry McKenna
Australian Women’s Health Network AWHN Bonney Corbin
Proxy: Holly Brennan
Embolden – Alliance for Women’s Freedom, Equity and Respect (Formally Coalition of Women’s Domestic Violence Services of South Australia) Jennifer Kingwell
Proxy: Susie Smith
Domestic Violence Victoria DVVic Alison Birchall
Proxy: TBC
ACT Women’s Services Network ACT WSN Zoya Patel
Sexual Assault Support Service, Tasmania SASS Tas Jill Maxwell
Proxy: Holly Mason-White
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women’s Alliance NATSIWA Sandra Creamer
Proxy: Christine Ross
Domestic Violence NSW DVNSW Renata Field
Proxy: TBC
National Union of Students Women’s Officer NUS Women’s Officer  Georgette Mouawad
Proxy: TBC
Ending Violence Against Women Queensland EVAWQ Anne Butcher
Proxy: Lindy Edwards
Centre For Women’s Health and Wellbeing WA Alison Evans
Proxy: TBC
Women’s Essential Service Providers Tasmania WESP Tas TBC
Proxy: TBC
Women’s Legal Services Australia WLSA Yvette Cehtel
Proxy: Angela Lynch
Women With Disabilities Australia WWDA Heidi La Paglia
Proxy: Libbi Cunnington
Project Respect Rachel Reilly
Proxy: TBC
Women’s Safety NSW Hayley Foster
Proxy: Ash Johnstone
Young Women’s Advisory Group of Equality Rights Alliance YWAG ERA Linnea Burdon-Smith
Karess Dias
Harmony Alliance: Migrant and Refugee Women for Change Michal Morris
Proxy: Sana Ashraf
Economic Security 4 Women eS4W Sharen Page
Proxy: Terese Edwards
National Rural Women’s Coalition NRWC Jo Stewart-Rattray
Proxy: Keli McDonald
Sisters Inside Debbie Kilroy
Proxy: TBC



Policy Executive Group


A Policy Executive Group, comprised of five Advisory Group member representatives, the AWAVA Program Manager and WESNET National Director, serves to expedite decisions about AWAVA policy positions and work priorities when timelines mean convening the entire Advisory Group is not feasible. Current member representatives on the Policy Executive Group are: Julie Oberin (WESNET), Heidi La Paglia (WWDA), Samantha Chung (Ruby Gaea NT), Hayley Foster (Women’s Safety NSW) and Bonney Corbin (AWHN).


AWAVA’s auspicing body is the Women’s Services Network (WESNET), and the Contract Manager is Karen Bentley, National Director of WESNET.